I Kind of Suck at Chips and Salsa, and I Need Your Help

I really like dipping things into other things.

Corn chips into salsa are among my favorites, because both items are inexpensive and delicious. But I inevitably run into the “corn chip dilemma”: I cannot pour a bowl of salsa and a plate of chips, and have their amounts match perfectly.

I either end up with this situation:

Chips left, but no salsa

Or this situation:

Salsa left, but no chips

My typical solution is to simply pour a bowl of salsa and then eat the chips straight from the bag. But this doesn’t always work… for example, sometimes I’ve gotten some chips and salsa to go from a restaurant, or maybe I’ve packed them up at home and brought them to work for lunch.

Another solution is to cover and refrigerate the leftover salsa and reuse it next time I want chips. But when you open the fridge and you see a tupperware filled with used salsa sitting next to a delicious jar of fresh salsa, what are you gonna pick?

That’s what I thought.

So here’s where I need your help: What do you do to solve the chip/salsa ratio dilemma? Leave your answer in the comments. The best answer wins a drawing of yourself eating chips and salsa, drawn by me.

4 responses

  1. Jeremy Henderson

    Prepare your feast as follows: 1 tbsp (approx. 15 mL) for every 1 chip if you are a greedy dipper or for every 2 chips if you fancy yourself a more moderate dipper.

    October 25, 2012 at 6:11 pm

  2. Tupperware the uneaten salsa, then the next time you do a chips/salsa experiment, add the uneaten salsa to the newer salsa. I further recommend smell testing it first.

    I rarely have much salsa left, so if I throw a bit of old salsa in with some new, I know no difference. Plus, there are starving children in Mississippi. Eat your salsa!

    October 25, 2012 at 6:16 pm

  3. I buy my salsa in a jar and I eat the chips out of the bag. That way, you just put the lid back on and close the salsa up when you are done. The only downside to this is when you get to the bottom of the jar and your hard doesn’t reach in there. Then, you dump it ALL out and just finish it up…still, chips out of the bag.

    October 27, 2012 at 4:56 am

  4. P.S. I really hope I win! This is our favorite food!!!

    October 27, 2012 at 4:57 am

Leave a Reply

