Just Keep Swimming

https://i2.wp.com/www.the-leaping-lamp.com/images/nemo-dory.jpgSo, a few notes.

First of all, I hit a wall in the marathon training. I couldn’t ever make it past 15 miles, and a combination of insomnia and weird sleep patterns made it next to impossible to improve on that this year. So the marathon is out for 2012.

But that’s okay!

Because my goal is “Before I’m 30”, which means there’s always next year. And next year, I will begin training in the spring, rather than waiting until August.

Anyway, between the end of NaNoWriMo (which I successfully completed) and the end of the marathon training, I found myself suddenly with nothing to occupy my time. I mean, sure, there’s work and friends, but I had no projects.

Not that I don’t have any projects. I have a pastel drawing in my cabinet that is about 20% finished and has a lot more to go. But I started that a month ago… I want a new project.

So I started one. It’s a just-for-fun web application, and – since it has a holiday theme – there’s a time issue. I thought of the idea this afternoon, and I came home and immediately started coding. I’m really excited. It should be finished by the end of this week.

But why do I need projects? That’s the real question. I feel like I need something to occupy my mind at all times. If not a marathon, then a novel, if not a novel, then a drawing, if not a drawing, then an application.

The problem is, I’m terrible at finishing what I start. Case-in-point: Marathon. But if NaNo taught me anything, it’s that I can finish projects! Sometimes, once in a blue moon, I can. I’d like to keep that up. (Not that the novel is finished finished, but it’s in the hands of my Round 1 editors at the moment, and I’m waiting to hear back from all of them before going to rewrites. If you’re unsure if you’re a Round 1 editor… if I sent you a copy of the book, you are one.)

Anyway, in the meantime, I’m going to keep my brain occupied with Current Thing. I need a code name for it, because I don’t want people stealing my ideas. “Current Thing” sounds good.

This was an awfully rambly post for someone who’s only on beer 3…

Leave a Reply

